Germany’s Frederic Funk and Britain’s Emma Pallant were crowned winners of the eighth edition of the Club La Santa IRONMAN 70.3 Lanzarote, held on Saturday morning in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Around a thousand participants (660 in 2018) took part in the event that has gained popularity in the IRONMAN 70.3 calendar.

Due to adverse sea conditions, the Canary Islands Government cancelled all activities at sea on Friday afternoon, including the swim section of the IRONMAN 70.3 Lanzarote. For that reason the participants only had to face 90 km of cycling and a 21 km run. Despite the cancellation, the 40 slots for the IRONMAN 70.3 Wold Championship remain standing.

The start took place at eight o’clock with the male professionals followed by the female professionals five minutes later by running from the transition zone to their bikes. The around 950 age groupers left the start line in groups of ten separated by intervals of 45 seconds. A sunny day but with strong winds forced the athletes into a tough bike course which did not change on the run course either.

The Spanish Emilio Aguayo who was among the favorites, had to drop out at KM 13 due to digestive problems, followed by Alessandro Degasperi later into the race. At KM 56 a group of five lead by Belgian Kenneth Vandendriessche, and countryman Pieter Heemeryck, Kévin Mauret (FRA), Frederic Funk (GER) and George Goodwin (GBR) separated by seconds. Only a few kilometres before the second transition zone, Team Erdinger’s Frederic Funk took the lead with more than a minute gap over Vandendriessche, Heemeryck, Goodwin and Mauret, which increased constantly by a very fast run performance.

With a total time of 03:35:00 Frederic Funk took the win, followed by Pieter Heemeryck (03:36:40) and Kenneth Vandendriessche (03:41:10).

The females PRO race

Lucy Hall (GBR), Emma Pallant (GBR) and Alexandra Tondeur (FRA) lead the bike course separated by only a few seconds between each other. Leaving together the second Transition Zone, Emma Pallant took the lead at KM 17 and pushed the pace leaving Alexandra Tondeur and Jeanne Collonge by more than 03:00.

With a total time of 04:08:14, Emma Pallant took the first place, followed by Alexandra Tondeur (04:10:36) and Jeanne Collonge (04:11:23).

Be Sociable, Share!