The celebration of the XXVIII IRONMAN Lanzarote will take place on Saturday 25th of this month in Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote municipality of Tías. It is the most highlighted race of the Canarian triathlon, and one of the most outstanding at national and international level. Some of the 1,650 participants are already in Lanzarote to train and get in touch with the swimming, cycling and running circuits. They are participants of the most diverse physical and age conditions, from different parts of the world, with the same personal challenge of reaching the finish line, putting their resistance to one of the toughest IRONMAN in the world. Each participant, after leaving at 7 o’clock in the morning, must swim the distance of 3.8 km, bike a tough circuit of 180.2 km and finish with a marathon of 42.2 km before midnight.

The race embraces professional and amateur athletes. The first 6 finalists, both male and female in the professional category, will receive a total of $ 25,000 in prizes. In addition, the IRONMAN Lanzarote offers 40 places for the IRONMAN World Championship of 2019 to participants of each age group, which makes it the ideal opportunity to achieve some of these places.

Alessandro Degasperi pursuing his third victory

A long list of high profile participants at this year’s edition including the Italian Alessandro Degasperi (winner of the IRONMAN Lanzarote 2015 and 2018), the Belgian Van Lierde (gold in 2013 and bronze in 2012 at the IRONMAN World Championship in Kona-Hawaii), the Italian Giulio Molinari (European champion of medium distance 2018), the German Andreas Raelert (2x second in the IRONMAN World Cup Hawaii), the Bosnian Andrej Vística (long distance European champion in 2013), and the Spaniards Emilio Aguayo (recent winner of the Volcano Triathlon), Iván Raña (medalist in the world championships between 2002 and 2004), Peru Alfaro (bronze in the European long distance 2011), Miquel Blanchart (gold in the European long distance 2011) and Clemente Alonso (silver in the relay World Cup in 2013).

Among the female participants are the Danish Maja Stage Nielsen (runner-up in European middle distance 2017), the Canadian Rachel McBride (3rd in World Championship in 2016), the Swedish Asa Lundstron (Swedish long distance champion 2016, 2017 and 2018), the American Dede Griesbauer (winner of the IRONMAN 70.3 of Taiwan in 2014), the German Jenny Schulz (European champion of long distance 2014), the Dutch Tessa Kortekaas (runner-up Volcano Lanzarote 2019), and the British Nikki Bartlett.

Be Sociable, Share!