Ironman Melbourne start list released

The Ironman Melbourne pro start-list has finally been officially released, with an all-star field including Marino Vanhoenacker, Craig Alexander, Dirk Bockel, Luke McKenzie, Mary Beth Ellis and Caroline Steffen to do battle for the Asia-Pacific Championship later this month.

The scramble to rack up early-season KPR points has seen a strong field of professional men and women make themselves available to race the Ironman Melbourne – Asia-Pacific Championship on March 23 in a couple weeks time.

The Ironman Melbourne men’s field will be head-lined by the inaugural champion Craig Alexander, but the recent Ironman 70.3 Geelong champion is set to have plenty of competition, with Marino Vanhoenacker, Dirk Bockel, Luke McKenzie, Michael Weiss, David Dellow, Paul Matthews and Axel Zeebroek just a handful of the main contenders who have signed on.

If the Australia and New Zealand contingents, the Ironman Asia-Pacific Championship could be the domain of the Europeans, with Matthias Hecht, Jarmo Hast, Mike Aigroz, Jimmy Johnsen, Sylvain Rota and Daniel Halksworth set to join Vanhoenacker, Bockel, Weiss and Zeebroek.

The women’s field is not light on talent either, with Mary Beth Ellis, Caroline Steffen, Angela Naeth, Natascha Badmann, Asa Lundström and Stephanie Jones all named to race.

Australia’s charge will be led by Rebekah Keat and she’ll have some able company in Rebecca Hoschke and Kym Jaenke.

Stay tuned to in the coming weeks as we build up to the first Championship Ironman of 2014.


Marino Vanhoenacker

Craig Alexander

Luke McKenzie

Cameron Brown

Dirk Bockel

David Dellow

Axel Zeebroek

Jimmy Johnson

Daniel Halksworth

Mike Aigroz

Paul Ambrose

Courtney Atkinson

Dan Brown

Matt Burgess

Guy Crawford

Balazs Csoke

Adam Gordon

Philip Graves

Jarmo Hast

Mathias Hecht

Todd Israel

Christian Kemp

Arland Macasieb

Paul Mathews

Casey Munro

David Nasvik

Josh Rix

Peter Roberston

Tom Rogers

Sylvain Rota

Benjamin SanSon

Michael Weiss

Luke Whitmore

Harry Wiltshire

Pawel Wisniewski

PRO Women

Caroline Steffen

Mary Beth Ellis

Rebekah Keat

Natasha Badmann

Asa Lundström

Rebecca Hoschke

Stephanie Jones

Mareen Hufe

Angela Naeth

Kim Schwabenbauer

Kate Belivaqua

Tracy Douglas

Michelle Duffield

Kristy Hallett

Tine Holst

Kym Jaenke

Keiko Tanaka

Be Sociable, Share!